U of T news
  • Follow U of T News

Meet 18 new Fellows of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences

One of the highest honours in the Canadian health sciences community

Professors Patricia O'Campo, Stephen Lye and Dina Brooks

Eighteen members of the University of Toronto community have been named fellows of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences, one of Canada’s most esteemed academic academies.

The fellows are recognized for their leadership, creativity and commitment to advancing academic health science and are drawn from a wide range of health professions — recognizing work from basic science to population health.

“It is encouraging to see the accomplishments of so many members of our community recognized by the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences,” said Professor Catharine Whiteside, dean of the Faculty of Medicine. “Their leadership and dedication are deserving of this recognition and they are an inspiration to their fellow colleagues and students.”

Election to fellowship in the Academy is considered one of the highest honours in the Canadian health sciences community.

“I join my colleagues in celebrating the accomplishments of our newly elected fellows and congratulate them on their achievements,” said Howard Hu, dean of the Dalla Lana School of Public Health.

The newly elected fellows are:

  • Philip Berger (Department of Family and Community Medicine)
  • Dina Brooks (Department of Physical Therapy)
  • Paul Dorian (Department of Medicine)
  • Herbert Gaisano (Department of Medicine)
  • Prabhat Jha (Dalla Lana Faculty of Public Health)
  • Rita Kandel (Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology)
  • Stephen Lye (Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, and Fraser Mustard Institute for Human Development)
  • Muhammad Mamdani (Department of Health Policy, Management, and Evaluation & Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy)
  • Phillip Marsden (Department of Medicine)
  • John Marshall (Department of Surgery)
  • Avery Nathens (Department of Surgery)
  • Patricia O'Campo (Dalla Lana Faculty of Public Health)
  • Thomas Parker (Department of Medicine)
  • Paula Rochon (Department of Medicine)
  • Sean Rourke (Department of Psychiatry)
  • J. Paul Santerre (Faculty of Dentistry & Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering)
  • Sharon Straus (Department of Medicine)
  • James Wright (Department of Surgery)

The new fellows were inducted at a ceremony hosted by the Academy September 19.

Liam Mitchell is a writer with the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Toronto.

September 24, 2013

The Bulletin Brief logo

Get faculty and staff news delivered straight to your inbox.